Fall Meal Plans

School’s back in session, making meal planning a necessity once again. This time, I am trying something different. Instead of different meals each day, I am now trying the same meal all of the weekdays. I am going to make an entree (like a meat) and then have various vegetables in each plate.

I found the best sectioned plates with tops at the dollar store of all places, and I bought ten of them. They stack into each other, so they don’t take up much room. Ten of them will allow me to make five meals in a week for each of us. However, I usually eat at the farm one or two nights, so I may just make eight a week.

I tried this, this past week and I thought maybe we would get sick of having the same thing for a week. Really though, I was just happy to have good food that took no work to prepare after a day of work. Mister has a bad habit of eating junk if there isn’t something ready to go in the fridge, so we both enjoyed it. And, the meals weren’t identical. Some days it was sweet potatoes and corn with the chicken, other days it was butterbeans and corn.

I also liked that I cooked once on Sunday, and that was it. It took two hours to make everything, portion it out into containers, and wash the dishes. During the week, I put our containers in the dishwasher and ran it Friday. So I only had to clean the kitchen once, and do the dishes twice. This seems to be a win-win

So, I opened up my canning talley on one tab, my pinterest recipe board (Meals on the Menu Plan, if you are following me on Pinterest), and picked and chose foods that required the fewest ingredients to be purchased. I went almost all the way through October, which is pretty good!

Week of August 17th

Breakfasts: Nuts and trail mix

Lunch: Pasta salad with tomatoes, dilly beans, and dried veggies

Dinner:

  • Hamburger steak with peppers and onions
  • butterbeans
  • cherry tomato crisp
  • broccoli
  • deviled eggs

Week of August 24th

Breakfasts: breakfast burritos

Lunch: Sweet and sour stir fry (sausage from freezer, peppers, cherry tomatoes)

Dinner:

  • Whole baked chicken
  • stuffing
  • green beans
  • roasted potatoes
  • greens.

Week of August 31st

Breakfasts: breakfast burritos

Lunch: Stuffed peppers (get peppers from garden)

Dinner:

  • Pork Shoulder (from freezer)
  • Apples
  • Rice or stuffing
  • Beans
  • Brussell Sprouts

August Shopping List

n/a

From the farm

peppers

potatoes

broccoli

Week of September 7th

Breakfasts: homemade egg mcmuffins

Lunch: mason jar salads

Dinner:

  • Jerk chicken

  • red beans and rice

  • plantains

  • snaps

Week of September 14st

Breakfasts: Egg muffin cups

Lunch: Tiken Gomen

Dinner: deer fajitas with rice and beans

Week of September 21th

Breakfasts: Boiled Eggs

Lunch: Chicken Paprikash

Dinner: Pasta (get deer sausage) with basil and tomatoes

Week of September 28th

Breakfasts: Breakfast burritos

Lunch: Marinated Veggies and rice

Dinner:

  • bbq meatballs

  • apples

  • corn

  • butterbeans

    September Shopping List:

Lettuce

english muffins

cabbage

plantains

spring rolls

marinated veggies ?

rice

From farm:

eggs

corn

deer sausage

Week of October 5th

Breakfasts: Breakfast burritos

Lunch: Mason jar salads

Dinner: Chicken parmesan casserole

Week of October 12th

Breakfasts: homemade egg mcmuffins

Lunch: Mexican cornbread

Dinner: Deer fajitas with rice and beans

Week of October 19th

Breakfasts: breakfast casserole

Lunch: salsa verde burritos

Dinner:

  • Italian chicken

  • snaps

  • sweet potatoes

  • corn

Week of October 26th

Breakfasts: breakfast burritos

Lunch: chicken cabbage stirfry

Dinner:

  • deer burgers

  • roasted potatoes

  • beans

  • deviled eggs

  • pickles

October Shopping List:

Lettuce

english muffins

cabbage

dollar store spring rolls

rice

bread

From farm:

eggs

corn

potatoes

deer sausage

Suggestions for weekend dinners:

chicken helper

bbq sammiches

burritos/enchiladas

beans with relish

quesadillas

chicken hummus pizza

spring rolls from dollar store

hot dogs

breakfast

sweet potatoes with pulled pork

2 thoughts on “Fall Meal Plans

  1. I totally stink at menu planning. And the wonderful folks I share my house with (you know, my family) would absolutely balk at the idea of the same meal every night, even with variations.

    • It is just me and Mister and he doesnt complain, happily. I did do some meal plans with different meals every night or every other night earlier in the year. We will see how this goes after a few weeks and which we like best.

Leave a Reply

