The Kid’s First Canning Project

We had The Kid for another three day weekend, and of course she wanted to go down to the farm. It was a rainy day, and we had a bucket of cucumbers, so of course we made pickles.

I told Kid she didn’t have to make pickles, if she would rather play, but she 1.likes to help and 2.likes to be rightthere with me, so we made pickles together.

I had some pickle mix with a recipe for Bread and Butter pickles, so that is what we used.

For every two quarts of pickles, use:

2 cups sugar

2 cups of vinegar

1/4 cup Pickle Spice mix

I sliced the cucumber on the cutting board, and she put them in the bowl. Then, I let her stuff the jars, which she thought was awesome. She took great pride in the fact she filled her jars quicker than me.

While she finished stuffing, I fixed the brine and heated it. Then, I filled each jar, and let Kid put the lid and ring on. Then, into the canner they went.

The quarts went for 15 minutes at a rolling boil, and pints for 10 minutes.

Tadah!

I told her we would put a jar in the fair, and if it wins, she can have the ribbon.

Leave a Reply

