Cheese It: My First Attempt at Making Cheese

Ever since I got into homesteading, i wanted to make my own cheese. I thought, however, that would require having raw milk, and that was difficult to get, since raw milk is illegal to sell in many states.

When we went to the Mother Earth News Fair, though, I went to a workshop on making cheese, and learned I can make many cheeses from grocery store milk. So, I purchased the book, and today I gave it a whirl.

I chose the simplest beginner cheese because, well, I am a beginner. The texture is like ricotta, and it is very tasty. I added a little too much salt, but it is still very good.

Here are the pictures I took of the process, with the steps in the captions. The whole process took less than an hour, and that includes clean-up time. I can’t wait to make more!

The book! I heartily recommend it~

The ingredients: whole milk, sea salt, lime juice, and some chives I dried from our garden. Next time I will use fresh.

Heat up the milk in a saucepan. I will use a thermometer next time, but essentially, it should be juuuuusst simmering, not boiling.

Once the milk is heated, add the acid (vinegar, lemon juice, lime juice). If you are like me and can, you are familiar with these acids. Stir. The acid will make the curds and whey separate.

I put a cheesecloth on my colander and poured the curds/whey through it. I put a bowl under the colander to catch the whey. Apparently you can use it as a food product to make rice, oatmeal, etc. Then, put the curds in a bowl

Add salt and herbs. I added chives. This is very yummy, and loose. However, I put it in a smaller tupperware container to go in the fridge, and it became slightly more firm.

Leave a Reply

