February’s Menu Plan

It’s February! Time for February’s menu plan!

A few thoughts on January’s menu plan:

I stuck to the plan for the most part, but for some of the meals, I had way more leftovers than I thought, and ate the meals for the rest of the week, so I didn’t eat many veggie plates or pastas. The best part of using jars to meal plan is that when those things come up, it’s pretty easy to change around the food. I didn’t have anything defrosted; I just didn’t open those jars.

I LOVE the baked egg muffin things; that’s about all I want to eat for breakfast anymore. 🙂 And the salsa verde enchiladas is one of my favorites.

I did a poor job keeping up with my grocery spending, but I am pretty sure it was less than 150 dollars, and that includes things like toilet paper, trash bags, and pet food (a big expense in our house)

This month I have some new meals to try. I canned seven pints of chicken the other day, so I have some chicken to use in the meals.

I went to the store today and bought the vast majority of the groceries for the month. I bought corn tortillas, and cheese (four packages; it was on sale for 1.89 a package), whole grain bread, lettuce, raisins and Greek yogurt. I had to replace some of my staples: brown sugar, baking cocoa, and oats, and olive oil. I bought a few items for The Kid: Capri sun pouches, chicken nuggets, a box of pop tarts. Mister likes convenience food and i refuse to buy Hot Pockets, so we compromise and I bought him a few cans of the chunky Campbell’s soup for quick meals. They also had some sale items I picked up: hamburger helper (chicken) on sale for 75 cents a box. I splurged a little and bought two avocados (my weakness). And, though we are not out yet, I bought a bag of cat food and a package of toilet paper since I do not plan on going back to the store for at least two weeks, hopefully three. I spent 85 dollars so far for February’s food expenditures.

This if February’s plan.

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
1

whole grain pizza

2

sammiches

3

chicken taco soup

4

veggie plate

5

pasta

6

cube steak

7

jalapeno chicken rice casserole

8

stuffed pepper soup

9

sammiches

10

beef tips with veggies

11

veggie plate

12

pasta

13

WG pizza

14

salsa verde burritos

15

cabbage tortilla soup

16

sammiches

17

chicken parm casserole

18

veggie plate

19

pasta

20

chicken hummus pizza

21

deer burgers

22

leftovers

23

sammiches

24

Tikel Gomen

25

veggie plate

26

pasta

27

chicken curry

28

leftovers

Leave a Reply

