Paprikash on an Icy Day

It is a snowy, icy day, and schools are closed. It messes up my calendar, but I am happy to be warm and safe at home. Last weekend I had chicken paprikash with my best friend, and I tried my hand at it today:

  • 1 quart chicken broth
  • 1 pint of carrots, pureed
  • 1 cup of green peppers, chopped finely
  • 1 quart tomato sauce
  • 1 quart of chicken
  • Two cups of chopped green onions
  • paprika, garlic, pepper

The actual recipe asks for yellow onions, but I had green in the freezer. Best Friend adds a little flour and sour cream to the soup, but I wanted to can it, and I wanted it to be a little healthier. It was quite good, though not as good as hers. šŸ™‚ I had a big bowl for lunch, enough to have for another meal, and I canned two pints. While I was at it, I also canned two pints of beans. I had some pork broth I’d saved from an earlier meal.

wpid-wp-1421266716548.jpeg

My canner was happy to get out! I hadn’t used it in a while.

I just got my grading out of the way, so I believe I shall spend the afternoon reading, and maybe enjoying another bowl of paprikash. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

