New Week, New Post

Today was the first day back to work after winter break. Alas. The good news is that means spring is on its way, and that is how I cheer myself after Christmas is over, with the thought that the garden is soon coming!

Over the weekend, my first order of seeds came in! The Kid was very excited and want to plan them RIGHT THEN, but I had to explain that it was too early and too cold. She is very excited about the garden, so I think we will start some slips in cups as a little project. I have some red mini bell seeds I saved and dried from last year; they will work perfectly.

I have another packet coming with more green beans and carrots. I am sooooo excited.

wpid-wp-1420506218251.jpeg

After work, I went out to the farm to see the babies. Here they are out in the pasture. I love my little horses so. I have been watching some videos on training, but I am going to have to take them out one at a time. I cannot work with just one in the stall or pasture, because the other two are all over each other’s business. 🙂

You may remember that one of the deep freezers broke. Because of this, we didn’t have a lot of room for Dad’s last deer. Happily, I had some room in my freezer, so I got to bring home ten packs of burger and two packs of cube steak.

wpid-wp-1420506225377.jpeg

Very thankful to have it! I also got a dozen eggs because I ate a long of them over break. I had already taken out some burger because according to the menu plan, tonight was deer burgers. I had planned to have roasted white potatoes for dinner, but I went out to lunch with friends and had fries, so I swapped sweet potatoes. I opened a jar and added garlic as I heated them. If you have not tried garlic sweet potatoes, I strongly suggest it. It is a delicious flavor combination.

I didn’t have burger buns; I had elected not to buy a pack of buns since when I had bread. I added tomato jam to the burgers; they were so good. Tomato jam is sweet and savory at the same time. I like to use cherry and grape tomatoes and just crush them by hand but a chunky spread.

wpid-wp-1420506237398.jpeg wpid-wp-1420506232345.jpeg

Dinner was very yummy. I think the homemade pickles, sauces, and relishes really take simple dinners over the top.

Tonight Dad and I discussed the possibility of getting a meat grinder to do our own deer. With the price of having one processed, it would pay for itself in the first year. I am super excited about that; I will have to spend the hunting off season researching equipment, I have so many projects I want to do.

So much homesteading, so little time!

Happy homesteading!

4 thoughts on “New Week, New Post

  1. Thank you for following my blog, and I’m so excited to read yours! And OH MY GOODNESS, I want to scoop your little minis up and hug them!

Leave a Reply

