January’s Menu Plan

One of my yearly goals is always to eat better. But this year, I really want to make even better use of our food storage, because, well, that’s the point. I want to eat as much as we can of our food from the farm, and buy as little as possible. So, I am going to try to do a menu plan for each month, and plan the menu around the food I have in my stockpile. Most of the meals are pretty healthy. When I am eating healthy, I do foods that are low on the glycemic index. That means few white potatoes, white bread, and foods that are high in sugar. There are some foods on the menu that will call for tortilla wraps, but I will either by the veggie-based kind or the whole grain ones.

I’m going to make breakfasts on Sunday for the week. Lunches will be some of the ready-made foods I have canned, such as chili, or leftovers from the night before.

At the bottom I also made a list of what I’m going to buy at the store (I love what a short list it is!), and options for sammiches (I know that isn’t the correct way to spell it. I like my spelling better) and for the veggie plate list. On Sundays, when I am making the breakfasts for the week, I will also get out the jars I need for the week, and take out anything that needs to be thawed. I have beans and relish, meat, and many veggies canned. I think making the breakfasts each Sunday will take no longer than half an hour, and getting the ingredients for the week another half hour, at most, so with an hour of time budgeting each Sunday, meal preparation won’t take long at all during the week

Monday nights I teach a night class, thus the need for sandwiches that night. Tuesday and Wednesday are usually grading nights, so those prep days are quicker than Fridays, when I have more time. I canned 70 quarts of tomato sauce, so I will use that and whole grain pasta for Pasta Thursdays, and add some of the dehydrated veggies.

I need to pick up some more deer burger from the farm, and of course, eggs, but that’s it! I am excited! I will let you know how the menu is going, and share next month’s as well!

Breakfasts Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Boiled eggs 4

deer burgers with potatoes

5

leftovers

6

chicken taco soup

7

veggie plate (3)

8

pasta

9

baked italian chicken

(pinterest)

10

leftovers

muffins 11

ranch porkchops

carrots

apples

12

Sammiches

13

beans and relish

14

veggie plate (3)

15

pasta

16

deer fajitas

17

leftovers

Egg muffins 18

Mexican lasagna

19

Sammiches

20

chicken taco soup

21

veggie plate (3)

22

pasta

23

white chicken enchilada casserole

24

leftovers

applesauce 25

chicken

noodle

soup

26

Sammiches

27

beans and relish

28

veggie plate (3)

29

pasta

30

teriyaki venison w rice

31

leftovers

Need to buy:

whole grain sliced bread

whole grain rolls

tortilla wraps

teriyaki sauce

greek yogurt

avocado

Sammich options

egg

chicken salad

turkey

deer

lunches:

Leftovers

chili

 Veggie plate options

squash

sweet potatoes

greens

snaps

butter beans

corn

apples

Leave a Reply

