Baking Memories

When my brother and I were growing up, my mother stayed up at home to take care of us and be at home with us. It meant we didn’t have a lot of extra money, because Dad worked at a manufacturing plant, but we always had everything we needed. More than that, we had quality time with our parents. We both have so many memories of family activities, playing outside, going fishing.

One of my favorite Christmas memories is baking Christmas cookies. Mom would get the ingredients, and on Cookie Day, we would bake cookies all day. When we were very small, mom would cook them, and my brother and I would sit in the breakfast nook, ready with cookie cutters, sprinkles, and candy to decorate them. We made a LOT and mom would freeze them, and we’d eat them all December, watching Christmas movies.

I even made up a little song when I was old enough to roll out the cookies myself: Big glob of peanut butter in my hand, roll it in a ball and throw it in the PAN!

Eventually, when I was in high school, Mom went back to work, and we carried on the tradition at home. I baked the cookies and we decorated them together. Even when I was in college, we would get together and make our cookies every year. It just isn’t Christmas without the cookies. They have to be peanut butter, they have to be from scratch, and they have to have the Hershey kisses.

So this year, The Kid and I made them. We had a good time, and she was so cute decorating them. We made a little bag for Daddy to take to work. She told him she  had made his EXTRA chocolately, but we had extra candy he could take with him in case there wasn’t enough chocolate.

Here is the recipe for the cookies

  • 3 cups all purpose  flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar (but I sub white when I am out of brown)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup peanut butter
  • Combine dry ingredients first, then the wet. We always just used elbow grease to stir, but I suppose a handmixer would be helpful.
  • Bake at 350 degrees for 10-15 minutes. I use a mini muffin pan for uniform cookies.

wpid-wp-1417896818957.jpeg

  • wpid-wp-1417896826181.jpegwpid-wp-1417896800776.jpeg

We made little bags of cookies for everyone. Very fun. The Kid loves to cook and help in the kitchen. It is not only a cheap and wholesome activity, but it is productive, too! 🙂 Love carrying on the Christmas tradition.

Happy holidays!

Leave a Reply

