Canning Greens: From Garden to Jars, in Pictures

After work, I went out to the farm. I groomed the horses. Tucker is being ornery again, so I haltered him for grooming. Ivy was so sleepy she flopped on the ground for a nap! wpid-wp-1415931461909.jpeg I had plenty to do at home, butttttt, I hadn’t put up any greens yet, so down to the garden we went. The greens look SO good this year. We have collards:wpid-wp-1415931497880.jpeg wpid-wp-1415931510322.jpeg And mustard greens

: wpid-wp-1415931504256.jpeg wpid-wp-1415931492126.jpeg

And turnip greens, but somehow I didn’t take any pictures of those. Mom has frozen a lot of them, and I am canning some, but much of it will go to the chickens, and it is also a good cover crop for the garden. We picked some BIG bags wpid-wp-1415931552335.jpeg I rinsed all of them off, and then chopped them. Some of the instructions I’ve read for canning greens suggests cooking them, and then chopping them. That’s silly. Chop them first. I scrunch them up and then chop the bunch into smaller pieces. Just be careful not to get your fingers.

wpid-wp-1415931559271.jpeg

After chopping the leaves, they should go into a big pot. I use my water bath canner. Greens need to cook down some because they REALLY absorb water. In between all this canning I made dinner: deer burgers with tomato jam and some mustard greens as lettuce.

wpid-wp-1415931565011.jpeg

It turned out really yummy. I enjoyed this and did some other chores while I waited for the greens to cook down.

wpid-wp-1415931579258.jpegGreens can be a little annoying because they shrink up so much. Pick HUGE bags, end up with just a few jars. I really crammed them into the jar this time. This is what they looked like before they went into the canner.

wpid-wp-1415931571383.jpeg

 I am very excited for them to come out of the canner to see how they look and if I managed to do them better this time. There is a bit of a learning curve to canning. For greens, they should be processed at 10 pounds per pressure, 90 minutes for quarts, 75 for pints.

I am going to go ahead and post this now because the canner has another thirty minutes, and once it is done, it has to depressurize, so it will be a while before I can get a picture of the jars to compare and see how much water siphoned off. I will update with a photo of the finished product.

It is going to be a cold winter, so I am glad and thankful to have healthy foods from the garden.

Happy homesteading!

One thought on “Canning Greens: From Garden to Jars, in Pictures

Leave a Reply

