Monday, Monday, and The Ramen Experiment Continues

You ever have a day when you look at your to do list, and just laugh? Thinking, all this isn’t getting done today? Well, that was my day, but somehow I was magical and everything was finished. Monday is down, and only four left to go.

I really enjoyed my class at the community college tonight. It’s a long class at the end of the day, but we have a good time. I will miss them when the semester is over.

So, my eggs were quite yummy for breakfast. I have a weird stomach in the morning, but it was happy with the eggs. For lunch, I added water to my jar and tried out the experiment. I heated it in the microwave for three minutes. The jar and the water were very hot, but the noodles weren’t super done. They were edible, and the water had a nice flavor from the dried veggies. It wasn’t horrible, but it wasn’t great.

SO, I ran by Food Lion after work, and I found chow mein noodles, and the sodium free chicken broth she mentions in the blog. I came home and prepared another jar for tomorrow, day two of the experiment.

wpid-wp-1415676905452.jpeg

Ramen experiment, take two!

I also tried to make better dried veggie choices. Yesterday, I just put some in randomly, and didn’t think about what would taste good together. Today, I used a couple red peppers, some dried tomatoes, and some chives.

As part of the experiment, I’d like to calculate how much each serving costs. Regular commercial ramen is 1.25 at our local sore for six packages, making them 20.8 cents per package. The chow mein noodles were 1.79 each, with six servings (one cup each) in a bag. The sodium free bouillon is also 1.79 for eight packets.

1.79/6 = 29.8 cents per jar for noodles

1.79/8 = 22.4 cents per jar for bouillon

The veggies were from my food preservation stash, so I am considering those free. The dried veggies are often whatever I have left over from canning, or things that need to be used quickly. The jars I already had, and they can be reused indefinitely. If I used new lids for the tops, I could use the Dollar General lids, which are 1.50 for a pack of 12, making each lid 12.5 cents. However, while canning lids cannot be reused for canning, they can be used for tops for dried goods over and over, making their cost nothing.

The cost for each serving, then, is 64.7 cents with new lids, and 52.5 cents with used lids.

If you do not have mason jars, you can reuse the spaghetti and pickle jars, with the screw top lid.

So, the cost per jar of healthy ramen with low sodium and a serving of veggies my way is 52.5 cents, compared to commercial, high-sodium ramen for 20.8 cents. The homemade ones are 2.5 times more expensive, but as it is just a difference of 32 cents, I will take it! Fifty cents isn’t bad for a convenient lunch on the go!

Tomorrow I will report back on the taste for take two.

Happy homesteading!

Leave a Reply

