Making Hummus

So I mentioned the other day that I was going to make some homemade hummus to eat with my cherry tomatoes. Hummus is SOOOOO yummy but kinda pricey in the store. Plus, sometimes I just really walk in my kitchen and think…I’d like some hummus, and with the ingredients in my house, I can make them!

I canned chickpeas in my pressure canner, so I have those ready to go. They are already soft and mushy. I open the pint and put it in the blender. You can use a food processor if you rather.

wpid-wp-1413255151704.jpeg

Then I add a tablespoon of olive oil, and a fourth cup of tahini. I cannot find tahini in my grocery story, so I just bought it online at Amazon. It is sesame paste. Add 1/4th cup lemon juice, a half a glove of garlic, and some cumin.

Now, sometimes I am out of lemon juice, or too lazy to get out some garlic, and I have skipped those and it was still rather tasty. Other times I try different spices, or add in a dried pepper or two.

Run the blender until it is all mixed up. I like mine a little thick and chunky.

wpid-wp-1413255162377.jpeg

And ta dah! That is all. The worst part is cleaning the blender. Making it really is that easy.

It was super yummy with my tomatoes!

wpid-wp-1413255172793.jpeg

Leave a Reply

