Spice Up Your Life!

Spices are expensive, but they are crazy easy to grow. Dad filled some barrels with composted horse manure (thanks boys, for the poop!), and we planted some of my favorites: cilantro, oregano, and chives. Dad also got some African basil and lemon basil because he liked the way they smelled. The African basil smells like traditional basil. The lemon basil smells incredible. I am not sure what I will use it for; I am thinking chicken.

You can grow spices in pots in your kitchen or on your porch. Cilantro grows well and fast, but it does not like hot weather and will bolt (go to seed) quickly when the temperatures rise. However, it will also seed itself back. Or, you can dry the seeds and have…coriander!

The oregano was slower growing. We grew the oregano, cilantro, and chives from seeds. I’ve harvested/clipped the cilantro four times. The oregano I clipped for the first time today. I also clipped some of the basil, but they were small plants when we got them, so that’s not a fair comparison.

Super easy to put all this up. I have a tray in the dehydrator of each type of spice. In a few hours, I will pop them in the blender and put into jars. I have a cilantro jar already half full. I will have to start jars for the others, probably pint jars at the moment.

I already have two quarts of dried green onion and two pints of dried mint, so the spice drawer is growing! They smell soooo good.Image

African Basil

 

Leave a Reply

